Training for Conformation Shows
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training for Conformation Shows

LabsLand is offline Senior Member

DefaultTraining for Conformation Shows

Hi All!

My Henna is 14 weeks old, and although we both are enjoying our weekly puppy classes, I was wondering if somebody in the forum can give me some lights on where to find Conformation Classes for puppies, if it is too early to do so, and what specific training/commands should I start with her besides heel and stack, and the best way to get her to stack free.

I checked in clubs that are within a 40 miles radius and I couldn't find any classes specifically for Show Dogs. Does anybody know of any trainer between White Plains, NY and Waterbury, CT ?

So far she is doing great with the Sit, Down, Leave it, and a couple of minutes per day the Heel commands.

I started training her (by my own) with the "Stack" command. I started putting her front legs on top of an old mini (portable) iron table and now she positions herself without asking when she wants a treat in between meals. I started today having her on top of the iron table (4 legs) and she seems to be getting it... she knows she can't go any further when her front paws touch the border of the table. Would this work? I don't want to confuse her. The sit position seems to be the easiest one when she wants a treat... :-\ and I feel guilty making her stand now to get the treat after almost 3 weeks of teaching the SIT command. She probably thinks I am more confused than her ???

Also about the use of a bell by the kitchen door seems to work (sometimes), however she is using it to tell me it is time to have her dish served It seems she is training me pretty well... :P

Any ideas?

The instructor at the Puppy class specializes in German Shepard's, but seems to be very knowledgeable in other breeds, and I don't mind driving for 40 minutes to get to her class, but I just want to find out when and where to bring her for more specific classes.