Hereditary Eye Problems other than PRA

Thread: Hereditary Eye Problems other than PRA

DefaultHereditary Eye Problems other than PRA

I'm a newbie to this forum and I'm in Australia and may not be cluey to North American attitudes . . . so please don't flame me if this is a dumb question. ;D

Has anyone had a Lab go blind or have serious eye problems from a hereditary eye disease other than PRA? Or know anyone who has a Lab that did so? I'm asking because one of the vets I use suggested that I might want to skip CERF testing after getting Optigen clearances. I did some searching and the only thing I could come up with was a form of cataract that rarely caused blindness.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Hereditary Eye Problems other than PRA

Not a dumb question at all ;D Here is a good link about inherited eye disorders:

http://www.labbies.com/eye.htm

I've always heard you should continue to CERF every year even after you do the optigen test. There are so many other things that they can be there...

meandclint is offline Senior Member

One of the ophthalmologist vets that I see is the former president of CERF and is the teacher at Tuft's veterinary school. He previously told Labrador breeders they can stop doing CERF exams at 7 - 8 years old since PRA would have shown up by then and they would be cleared of any other eye disorder previously. I would assume the reason for yearly CERF exams was to continue to check for the development of PRA. Now with the Optigen test you can rule out PRA much earlier and I don't know what is recommended now. I think eye vets and CERF won't want to stop doing exams since that is a big source of income for them.