Thoughts again please
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thoughts again please

momofalab is offline Senior Member

DefaultThoughts again please

I am still working with Pitch, hoping to someday get him into a show ring. I have taken some of your advices, and have added a few pounds to him. He is still taking obediance classes, and is setting down some. I saw his breeder lastnight, and she doesn't think he has the right look at this time for the ring. She thinks in her terms he is to "gangly". She said if his body can catch up to his head he might have a shot, that he could still grow more in the next year. He will be 1yr, next week. Am I to far behind in hoping that he can be a show prospect? With him being a year of age, and him never setting foot into a ring, is it to late? I didn't think it was going to be this tough, but with the breeder not giving me positive thoughts, I have held off doing anything with him. Do I take the chance and see what he can do? I am a novice, never even set foot in a ring. I know there is a lot of politics involved, and to be honest, I don't even know where to start. I know I have read a lot of people say trust your breeder. I guess I wish I had a second opinion. Someone else that isn't related to the breeder that could sit me down and say Yes or No.

The other problem I run into, is being Pregnant, am I going to put him that much further behind. I think coming from a novice he has a chance. At least I hope so. How late is to late to get him going on this?

Also, does anyone know of any good Lab/All Breed Clubs that I could join in the Western NY/Buffalo Area?

I have enclosed a recent picture of him. I tried to get him to stand while eating Peanutbutter. He didn't care much for the peanut butter, so that didn't go as planned. Any thoughts, or lashing with a wet noodle, will be greatly appreciated.

-Shannon