What is the correct Collar for the Breed Ring?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is the correct Collar for the Breed Ring?

2yellowlabs is offline Senior Member

DefaultWhat is the correct Collar for the Breed Ring?

I am new to confirmation showing. I have a 4 month old male pup that I am going to show in Breed. I have received conflicting info about the best collar to use. Some of my friends that show in breed recommend a choke chain - light of course - but good for control. Another person told me that lab judges like to see a lot of free stacking and prefer a one piece leash & collar. And then another suggestion was to use a rubber tipped prong collar for all training and only use the choke chain in an actual show. YIKES!!! I am confused to say the least. We have started obedience training with him. I just started a confirmation class as well. I know this might be an individual preference thing but I am interested in what those who have shown in breed would suggest. Many thanks for helping me. B
    Betsy
    Kelleygreens Couer D'Or, CGC,CD, RAE2 - Doro - Nov. 21, 1995 to Jan. 14, 2010
    Kelleygreens The Shamrock Kid, CGC, OM, UDX2, RE, NA, NAJ, AXP, AJP, ASCA CDX, - Shamrock
    Kelleygreens The Few, The Proud, CGC, CDX, GN, NA - Recon

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: What is the correct Collar for the Breed Ring?

It depends on the shows you go to. I use a snake chain for all breed shows. Most people stack at all breed shows but I still let Essy free stack. I think the one piece collars are preferred for specialties where the dogs are almost always free stacked.

ObedienceLabs4Me is offline Senior Member

Val from Paws and Tails who use to breed and show Labs, Bill (Caleb's handler) and Sarah all told me to get a nylon slip collar with the matching lead that laces through (without a clip). That's all I have used on Caleb. I have a tan color that matches him.
    Susan