getting started in event

Thread: getting started in event

Defaultgetting started in event

I have two labs and am thinking that my 2yr of male would be good at doing some field type of events. He is obsessed with retrieving anything and enjoys it so much. How do I get started in this kind of thing, what is the best way to start? I have no experience in this kind of thing at all - would I be better off having someone else do some training with him to get started or could I do it with (with help)? He has had one basic obedience class and did "okay"; he wasn't the best but not the worse either and with practice does pretty good although he has a ways to go. I read about the upcoming LRC Specialty trials coming up in our area in September and hope to go and watch part of this.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Tatyana is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: getting started in event

You should probably post this in the Hunting/Trials subforum as this subforum is for conformation. That said, when you say "trials" you probably mean hunt tests. Find a retriever club in your area that does hunt tests and picnic tests and join the club. Going to events is a great way to ask around for any recommended trainers in your area or to join a training group.