To trim or not to trim
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To trim or not to trim

modelmom is offline Junior Member

DefaultTo trim or not to trim

I am new to the world of showing Labs. I am going to my first big show in 2 weeks with my now 7 month old yellow. A 2 day specialty????I might have bitten off more than I can chew. But anyway...
    I have a few questions about grooming.
    1. Should I trim the long thick hairs on his face. (above his eyes, around his neck...)
    2. Other than bathing is there any other grooming I should do?
    3. Should I cut and file his nails down?

Any grooming tips and advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks a bunch!
    Lisa...and Buddy

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

CaliforniaLabLover is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: To trim or not to trim

I'm still new, so take what I have to say with a grain of salt, okay?

Definitely cut/file his nails down as short as possible without causing him any discomfort- don't wait until just before the show in case you accidently cut too short and cause any pain (not a good thing to go into a show with a lame dog because of cutting a nail too short, etc.). I tend to Dremel both of my dogs approx. every 10-14 days to try to *keep* them short.

As far as trimming, don't trim whiskers and try to avoid trimming the twizzle (end of the tail) for a specialty show. You can "neaten" the feet a bit by getting some of the excessive hair off that may be sticking out between toes and whatnot, but don't get too "scissor happy" because you want your lab to have hair! LOL Most likely, you'll be showing outdoors anyhow, on the grass? The feet will likely be covered up by grass when free-stacked in the ring.