English vs. American
Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: English vs. American

JackieN is offline Senior Member

DefaultEnglish vs. American

Hi..newbie here, I've posted in the newcomers section. Any opinions on English Labs versus American Labs?
    We have an 11 wk old "american" Lab. Just curious!
    Jackie
    <br /><br /><br /><br /><br />

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

WigWag Guest

DefaultRe: English vs. American

The general public will often say "English" and "American" when there are actually three types of Labradors and it has nothing to do with being from England or America.

Show/bench bred Labradors are the ones called "English" and they are the thick and muscular types with big heads and thick coats. They are bred by show breeders but are very versatile making great hunting companions as well as family pets. They are the same the world over - in other words a show dog bred in America will look the same as those in Canada, Europe, Australia, etc.

Dogs that are taller and leaner with more narrow heads and slicker coats are called "American". These can be divided further into field bred and pet bred. Field bred dogs are highly accomplished dogs that compete in field trials and are most often owned by hunters although they do make good family companions as well. Pet bred dogs are the vast majority of Labradors. They don't have the best pedigrees and are bred to be "just pets" and while there is nothing wrong with being just a pet they most often do not come from breeders that are breeding for the right reasons - they don't do routine health clearances (hips, elbows, eyes, heart) and they lack the knowledge of the breed standard and do not compete in anything. Pet bred dogs vary in size and temperament. I have seen some that are 40 lbs and others that are 110 lbs.