Preparing a puppy for showing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Preparing a puppy for showing

Yuna is offline Senior Member

DefaultPreparing a puppy for showing

I'm hoping to get some advice from the experts here since I'm a complete newb to the dog show world.

Floss was born July 31st, so she'll be 4mths soon. What kinds of things should I be doing to prepare her for Showing? She's enrolled in puppy classes, when she's finished we'll be going to handling classes. What kinds of things should we be doing at home?

Also, at what age should should we be thinking about showing her? I know there ar categories for puppies, but how do I know if she's ready to enter? Should I be looking at upcoming shows near my area to enter her into?

I'll be talking to my breeder, she wants to take a look at her to make sure she's coming along, but I'd like to prepare if she gives me the go ahead.
    <br />Windanna&#039;s Fairy Floss

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

ruff n tumble crew is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Preparing a puppy for showing

Sounds like you're headed in the right direction. Continue socializing as much as possible. Also, I would start to free bait at this age. Just a little hint, they all seem to want to sit when you first start baiting. Only give the treat if she remains standing. Make a game of it. It should be FUN for her.

My breeder mentioned this when we picked her up. How often should I be working her during the day? What should I expect while showing my puppy?

Thanks for your reply.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Canyon Labradors is offline Senior Member

I would work on it a few minutes, several times a day. Make it a fun game...stand for the treat. Then, don't move for the treat. They learn fast at that age.

ruff n tumble crew is offline Senior Member