Going to a specialty; need advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Going to a specialty; need advice

Tatyana is offline Senior Member

DefaultGoing to a specialty; need advice

So, I'm going to Sierra Vista specialty in September. This is my first specialty, and I have no clue about what's going on. I picked up "Absolute Beginners Guide to Showing Dogs," to at least help me figure out classes, etc.

My main purpose in going for me is to start figuring out what kind of Lab I like, what kind of Lab the judges think is the best, and to see if the differences between my and judges' opinions are more cosmetic or structural. So, which classes do you think will be the most beneficial for me to watch? I am going to come and see Julie and Monty, so I'll watch some puppies. But should I really focus on adults?

Any other advice will be greatly appreciated, too.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

ruff n tumble crew is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Going to a specialty; need advice

My best advice......keep your eyes open and have a great time. I would plan to make a day of it. Anything less would be akin to sacrilege. LOL Also, bear in mind that every judge will have different views. They may or may not like the same things that you or I do. If you have a mentor, stick close and pick his/her brain for as much info as you can get. Once again, have a great time!!

WigWag Guest