puppy evaluation question

Thread: puppy evaluation question

madigan11 is offline Junior Member

Defaultpuppy evaluation question

I was looking through the posts about evaluating young puppies conformation and was curious about some posts about puppy toplines. I am a novice and I'm trying to understand what the breed standard is and the lingo. I've seen some puppy pictures where the puppies have sloping toplines (from the shoulders down to the tail) and the critiques have said nice topline. The puppies were around 7-8 weeks. Is the slope ok at this age? The tailsets were all even with the back.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Eresh is offline Senior Member

The tail should come right off the croup and be carried that way when moving. A topline that slopes from withers to tail (like a pointer) is incorrect for a lab. It could have just been that the pup's legs were too far back, making it appear sloping. This illustrated breed standard is helpful. http://www.thelabradorclub.com/uploa...oStand2002.pdf
    Are you looking for a pup for show?

windycanyon is offline Senior Member

A sloping topline could indicate that the rear angles are more extreme than the front angles (such as is common w/ a pointer). OR in a pup at 7-8 wks, it may just be that way the day of photos due to the front legs growing ahead of the rear legs in time. I tend to watch my pups 2x a week those last few, just to note things like that.

WindyCanyon Girls, August 2014

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Eresh