Velcro Dog? Senior dog won't relax alone.
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Velcro Dog? Senior dog won't relax alone.

ShawsMama is offline Junior Member

DefaultVelcro Dog? Senior dog won't relax alone.

Good morning,
    I'm Kellie, and I am new to JL and new to dogs! 5 months ago I adopted my first dog, Shaw. He is a 9 year old Labrador mix (Shepherd, likely) that was surrendered to the county shelter after his owner passed away. He was nothing what I was looking for in first dog. I wanted an active, running partner and a dog to join me in my long trail rides with the horses. However, when I was leaving the shelter (the Collie I looked at was a nightmare and not for beginners. Poor girl just needed to get some exercise and a job) I saw him lying down with the saddest look on his face. Shelters are chaos -- and he just laid there trying to block it out. So I asked to see him and it melted my heart. I took him home the next day. We have a very strong bond -- which I didn't realize until I took him out in public and saw how people-shy he is. He will turn away from strangers and tuck his tail when we are in groups. He even shied from my husband for the first few months. He's just very scared and doesn't like humans. But he loves other dogs so the dog park is a hit!