What Should I Do? Yellow Lab with Brown Nose? Or wait?
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What Should I Do? Yellow Lab with Brown Nose? Or wait?

sandgrace is offline Junior Member

Default What Should I Do? Yellow Lab with Brown Nose? Or wait?

Hello! I'm new to this forum with a Lab-related dilema. We went last night to see the puppy that we can pick from the litter and there are 4 in the litter with black noses/eyes and 2 with brown noses/light eyes all are girls (we said that we wanted a girl). I've known that I was 4th choice on this litter, and I knew that the breeder was picking 1st choice out of this litter. If I'm 4th pick why can't I pick from puppy number 4, 5, and 6...not just 5 and 6? She says that there was obviously a communication problem which I agree with. I am no Lab expert but when I reserved this puppy I was reserving a Yellow and I just assumed that they would all have black noses, now of course I realize I was wrong. The puppy is adorable and seems healthy..but in my heart I want a Yellow/Black nose. The breeder has given us an option..she has another litter that's about a week or 2 younger than our litter..all of the pups are reserved but she says she will ask if anyone will want to switch with us. Or we can wait because she's expecting another Yellow litter in mid January. I'm torn the brown-nosed pup is adorable, but we are paying quite a bit of money for this pup, so I feel that I should get a Yellow/Black like I really want. I'm looking for advice from Lab experts/lovers what would you do in my situation? All input is greatly appreciated!

Belles mom is offline Senior Member

Well, there are several issues here.

From what you describe, the pup in question is what is referred to as a Dudley. Unless you want to compete in conformation, there is nothing wrong with a Dudley. It sounds like the pup is a happy little soul, and by the time you have it home for awhile, you will not even notice the pigmentation.